Dealing with iPods: Part 4: How Many?

Crazy Amount of iPods
These are not my iPods. If I had this many iPods, and didn’t give each away to a friend I think that I’d get into hell on gluttony alone.

Ben Stroud asked about how many iPods I’ve owned in a comment to the first entry I posted in this iPod series. The fact alone that I didn’t know this off hand means I should be in some iPod Obsessives Anonymous program instead of posting these blog entries. But I don’t got the time for that now that I have a new working iPod.

It adds up, that’s all I’m going to say about the price of being addicted to the iPod.

I’ve never bought the same iPod twice, and just to clarify, I’ve spent more money on repairing the car I crashed in Winter 2003 than I’ve spent on iPods.

The first iPod I got was the 2nd Generation (touch wheel), which I got as a present for graduating high school. I paid for the 3rd generation (with 4 light up buttons) and the 4th generation (click wheel, black and white display) out of my own pocket with money earned from summer jobs. And as a birthday present, I split the cost of the 4th generation (color screen, photos) with my parents.

Why did I have to keep getting new iPods? I lost the 4th generation (click wheel, black and white) when I was moving my stuff during the summer before senior year. I sold my 3rd generation to get money, because I needed money. And I believe the first iPod, the 2nd generation iPod, it broke and somehow the break wasn’t under warranty.

But I’ve owned more than 4 specific iPods, because whenever I’ve had a problem with one, when it was covered under warranty, which I believe has happened at least 6 or 7 times, Apple’s sent me, or handed me, a brand new replacement.

So Ben, to answer your question, I’ve owned about a dozen iPods, and paid for 4.

Leave a comment